Winners of the 2005 AWP Award Series

The AWP Award Series in Creative Nonfiction

Winner: J.D. Scrimgeour
Themes for English B, University of Georgia Press

Robin Hemley, Judge

J.D. Scrimgeour coordinates the Creative Writing Program at Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts. His poetry collection, The Last Miles will be published by Fine Tooth Press in 2005. Essays from Themes For English B have appeared in Boston Globe Magazine, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and Thought & Action. His essay, “Living the Outfield” won the Writing Baseball contest sponsored by Creative Nonfiction and will appear in the journal’s special issue, “The Anatomy of Baseball.” He lives in Salem with his wife, Eileen FitzGerald, and their two sons.

Novel Winner

Winner: John Robinson
Dreaming America, New Issues Press

Rikki Ducornet, Judge

John Robinson is the author of two novels: January’s Dream and Legends of the Lost. His short stories have appeared or will appear in Ploughshares, the Sewanee Review, and other literary journals. As a dramatist, he has had two plays performed in the past year: Through the Looking-Glass Diner and Kansas. Kansas was a finalist/winner in the Boston Globe Drama Festival One-Act Competition, and a finalist in the New England Drama Festival.

Donald Hall Prize for Poetry

Winner: John Hodgen
Grace, University of Pittsburgh Press

Ha Jin, Judge

John Hodgen is a faculty member of the English Department at Assumption college. He is the author of In My Father’s House, winner of the 1993 Bluestem Award from Emporia State University in Kansas, and Bread Without Sorrow (2001) winner of the Balcones Poetry Prize (2002), published by Lynx House Press, Spokane, Washington. He is the winner of the 2005 Ruth Stone Poetry Prize from Hunger Mountain ( Vermont College) and the 2005 Foley Poetry Prize from America Magazine. He is married, with two daughters.

The Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction

Winner: Nona Caspers
Heavier Than Air, University of Massachusetts Press

Ana Menendez, Judge

Nona Caspers is an Assistant Professor at San Francisco State University. Her short fiction has received an Iowa Fiction Award from the Iowa Review, a Barbara Deming Memorial Grant and Award, and a Joseph Henry Jackson Literary Grant and Award. Her work has appeared recently in The Iowa Review, Cimarron Review, Blithe House Quarterly, and Fourteen Hills. She is the author of The Blessed and is currently at work on A Book of One Hundred Days.

List of Winners

The Donald Hall Prize for Poetry and Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction are made possible by the generous support of:

Amazon Logo

See a list of previous AWP Award Series winners.