Winners of the 2004 AWP Award Series

The AWP Award Series in Creative Nonfiction

Winner: David Carkeet
Campus Sexpot, University of Georgia Press

Suzannah Lessard, Judge

David Carkeet was born and raised in Sonora, California. He has written five novels, Double Negative, The Greatest Slump of All Time, I Been There Before, The Full Catastrophe, and The Error of Our Ways. His essays have appeared in the New York Times Magazine, Poets & Writers, and elsewhere. Among his distinctions are an O. Henry Award and three “Notable Books of the Year” citations from the New York Times Book Review. For many years he taught linguistics and writing at the University of Missouri-St. Louis and edited the University’s literary journal, Natural Bridge. He now lives near Montpelier, Vermont.

The AWP Award Series in the Novel

Winner: M. Evelina Galang
One Tribe, New Issues Press

Elizabeth McCracken, Judge

M. Evelina Galang is the author of Her Wild American Self, a collection of short fiction from Coffee House Press (1996). Her collection’s title story has been short-listed by both Best American Short Stories and Pushcart Prize. Galang is also the editor of Screaming Monkeys: Critiques of Asian American Images (Coffee House Press, 2003). Recently, Galang's anthology won ForeWord Magazine's Gold Book of the Year Award for 2003. In 2001, she was the Fulbright Senior Research Scholar in the Philippines where she continued her work on Surviving Comfort Women of World War II for her collection of essays, Lolas' House: Women Living with War. Galang teaches in the MFA Creative Writing Program at the University of Miami.

The Donald Hall Prize for Poetry

Winner: Christopher Bursk
The Improbable Swervings of Atoms, University of Pittsburgh Press

Alicia Ostriker, Judge

Chris Bursk, recipient of the NEA, Guggenheim, and Pew Fellowships, is the author or seven books, most recently Cell Count with Texas Tech University Press and Ovid at Fifteen from New Issues Press. He is also the 2004 winner of the 49 th Paralell Poetry Award sponsored by the Bellingham Review. In addition to serving as a volunteer for three decades in the correction system, he teaches at Bucks County Community College. His work has appeared in magazines such as Paris Review, American Poetry Review, Poetry, Manhattan Review, and the Sun. His poem “Ovid at Fifteen,” won the Another Chicago Magazine Award, and his chapbook, Working the Stacks was published by Bachae Press. Bursk holds an MFA from the Warren Wilson MFA Program, and a doctorate from Boston University. He has also been a student in the Vermont College MFA Program and held residencies at MacDowell, Yaddoo, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

The AWP Award Series Short Fiction

There was no Short Fiction Winner for 2004

Douglas Bauer, Judge

List of Winners

The Donald Hall Prize for Poetry and Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction are made possible by the generous support of:

Amazon Logo

See a list of previous AWP Award Series winners.