Winners of the 2000 AWP Award Series

The AWP Award Series in Creative Nonfiction

Winner: Brian Lennon
City: An Essay, University of Georgia Press

Sven Birkerts, Judge

Brian Lennon was born in New York City in 1971 and educated at Wesleyan University, The University of Iowa, and Columbia University, where he is a doctoral candidate in English and Comparative Literature.

The AWP/Thomas Dunne Books Novel Award

Winner: Alexander Parsons
Leaving Disneyland, St. Martin's Press

Alexander Parsons was born in London, England, and has lived most of his life in New Mexico. He teaches and writes at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, NM. He holds degrees from Wesleyan University, New Mexico State University, and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

The AWP Award Series in Poetry

Winner: Joanie V. Mackowski
The Zoo, University of Pittsburgh Press

Li-Young Lee, Judge

Joanie V. Mackowski attended Wesleyan University, the University of Washington, and most recently was a Stegner Fellow in Poetry at Stanford University. She is currently a doctoral candidate at the University of Missouri-Columbia. Her work has appeared in Poetry and The Paris Review.

The AWP Award Series in Short Fiction

Winner: Michelle Richmond
The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress, University of Massachusetts Press

Jill McCorkle, Judge

Michelle Richmond’s fiction has appeared in Gulf Coast, The Florida Review, Fish Stories, and various anthologies. She has received fellowships from the Michener Foundation and the Millay Colony for the Arts. She lives in San Francisco, California.

List of Winners

The Donald Hall Prize for Poetry and Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction are made possible by the generous support of:

Amazon Logo

See a list of previous AWP Award Series winners.